Read By Grade Three

Read By Grade Three Information

What is Public Act 306?

On October 6, 2016, Michigan adopted the third-grade reading legislation when Governor Rick Snyder signed Public Act 306 into law. Public Act 306 of 2016 (now referred to as MCL 380.1280f) requires all third-grade students not scoring proficient on the 3rd Grade state summative assessment be retained. This legislation took effect immediately and 2016-17 kindergarteners will be the first cohort of students impacted by the retention aspects of the law in 2019-20.

Additional Information
Public Act 306 House Bill
Frequently Asked Questions
Michigan Department of Education Read by Grade Three Video
PA 306 Letter to Parents
PA 306 Reading Assessment Requirements
Michigan's Action Plan for Literacy Excellence

 

Meet the Literacy Team

Literacy Coach Picture

Kara Shuell
Interim K-12 Assessment and Literacy Coordinator
248-746-4350
kara.shuell@southfieldk12.org

Stephanie Avery
Literacy Coach
Adler Elementary 
248-746-8870 
stephanie.avery@southfieldk12.org

Gail Bocknek
Literacy Coach
McIntyre Elementary
248-746-7365 ext.8794
gail.bocknek@southfieldk12.org

Stephanie Bunch
Literacy Coach
Birney K-8 School
248-746-6486
stephanie.bunch@southfieldk12.org

Denise Bush
Literacy Coach
MacArthur K-8 University Academy
248-746-6643
denise.bush@southfieldk12.org

Sommer Caldwell-Carruthers
Literacy Coach
Thompson K-8 International Academy
248-746-6580
sommer.caldwell-carruthers@southfieldk12.org

Candice Jeziorowski
Literacy Coach
Vandenberg World Cultures Academy
248-746-7382 
candice.jeziorowski@southfieldk12.org

Shannon Rourke
Literacy Coach 
Stevenson Elementary
248-746-8843
shannon.rourke@southfieldk12.org

Read by Grade Three Video

Click below to learn more.